Coffeesick is for you

a good one

Coffeesick is a blog I created years ago. I created it so I can write about stuff. Oddly enough, I don’t keep up on it as much as I would like. I get busy being a Dad, or working my other jobs. But if I had my way, I’d put something on Coffeesick every night.
Coffeesick can be a place to post ridiculous, awesome photos that your friend Carson took. Then you can plug “Red Scarf Shots” and say you’d be an idiot not to have her photograph you, your kid, or your event.
Coffeesick can be a place where I say pictures of your dinner put on facebook aren’t the least bit interesting.
Coffeesick can feature a review of the new Clutch record, and say its the strongest release from this Maryland rock band in years.
Coffeesick can be about that guy that brags about his cocaine habit.
Coffeesick can be about how much I like certain mountain bike trails, or how much I want to take my kid on a vacation out of the country.
Coffeesick can be critical. I know most people like to read positive things, but Frederick Douglass and Edward Abbey had a few critical things to say. God damn, even Judy Blume did. Reading that’s okay too, right? Not everything can be super uplifting and positive, like some X’d out kids review of the last Sound Tribe Sector Nine show? The band may have said they sucked that night, but not to that kid on one too many goofballs.
Coffeesick can mention, again, about how awesome Devin Davis’s CD is.
Coffeesick can be about how every time someone tells me they’ll quit smoking I know they are lying. Keep trying, I am pulling for you. I hear quitting smoking is hard.
Coffeesick is about sarcasm, and all its misunderstood excellence.
Coffeesick is also a chance for me to rag on myself. I’m 43 years old, not in the best shape as I would like to be, and piss poor. Hey, that’s okay. My kid will be okay with student loans, a used car and me. I also have enough holes in my theories and beliefs to drive Snowmans truck through.
Coffeesick can be about Smokey and the Bandit. What a film.
Coffeesick can be about me saying that I’m a good Dad.
Coffeesick can also be about me, bragging, that I have great taste in music.
Coffeesick can also be about me wishing more people bought records.
Coffeesick can also be about me wishing more cyclists obeyed the traffic laws automobiles have to obey, and how i wish the police wrote more tickets to those cyclists.
Coffeesick can be a critical, thoughtful, in depth, wordy blog about all that is right in the world. My kid is healthy, so is her Dad. The weather is awesome, music is great and my parents are two kick ass people.
Coffeesick can be a critical, thoughtful, in depth, wordy blog about how racists suck, homophobic people need a serious ass kicking, and politicians are some of the most self serving, egotistical asshats around, no matter what side they are on.
Coffeesick can be a blog where I praise J. Mascis and John Hartford for being equally awesome at the styles of music they chose to create.
Coffeesick can be a blog where I complain about Darius Rucker.
Coffeesick can be a blog where I say “I love puppies and rainbows.”
Coffeesick can be a blog where I wonder why some of the christians I know are so intolerant.
Coffeesick can be a blog where I say “I don’t like nazi’s.” I hate nazi’s. What a bunch of dicks those people were, and are.
Coffeesick can be about questioning god, religion, politics, and everything that comes with being labeled “liberal” or “conservative.”
Coffeesick is about KIX.
Coffeesick can be an exercise in praise of all things awesome, while it also can be an exercise in all things sucky. The internet is “awesome.” The internet is “sucky.”
While we’re at it, Earthrocker by Clutch, the Maryland rock band, is awesome. Get it.

About bryantliggett

Dad, writer, critic, fan, hobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffeesick is for you

  1. Kah-née says:

    One must abide the duality of all things…KIX the band or the cereal?

Leave a Reply

